Today I decided to be completely and totally selfish and it seems to have worked for me. I told myself that I was leaving work at 5 pm regardless of what I had or hadn’t finished. I got in at 8 am and damnit, 9 hours with no concrete lunch break is more than enough work for a day, especially considering what I do. So I left work at 5, picked up my blood thinners and some toiletries, got some groceries to make dinner and came home. I also went to the gym! Yay! Worked out for 1 hour – 30 minute course on the bike and 30 minutes of the elliptical/stairmaster hybrid machine. I feel fabulous! I hope I can keep this attitude up tomorrow.

As for food – I’m okay today. It was mac and cheese bar at work, which means all mac and cheese, all the time. Macaroni and cheese is my weakness and I refuse to say no to it, so I had it for lunch, but I coupled it with a nice salad, so I don’t feel so bad about it. I ate a fruit/veggie at every meal and I even remembered to take pictures. I also took my blood thinners in the correct dosage. Today is definitely a success!

Food Diary

Breakfast

breakfast

  • Greek yogurt with walnuts and honey
  • 1 honey tangerine

Lunch

lunch

  • One small scoop of buffalo chicken mac and cheese
  • Classic mac and cheese with jalapeno tabasco sauce (the only way to eat it – for realz)
  • Mixed greens with walnuts, parmesan, and balsamic vinaigrette dressing

Dinner

dinner

  • 2 small lamb and mozzarella burgers, each one on half of a whole wheat bun
  • Mixed greens with walnuts, freshly grated parmesan, and homemade balsamic vinaigrette dressing

Alcohol

  • None – take that!

Recipes:

Lamb Burger with Smoked Mozzarella

  • Cut 1/4 pound of smoked mozzarella into four pieces
  • Divide a pound of ground lamb into quarters
  • Form into patties around each piece of cheese
  • Add salt and pepper to taste
  • Grill or broil until the outsides feel very firm, 3-4 min per side
  • Serve on toasted buns

Homemade balsamic vinaigrette

  • I Tbsp.Dijon  mustard
  • 2-3 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 2-3  Tbsp.olive oil
  • 2-3 Tbsp. canola oil
  • salt and pepper
