Saturday, February 21st, 2009


Okay, the internet in my apartment just up and stopped working so I’ve been having trouble posting, but now I’m at my parents’ house so it makes sense to update. I’ve decided to do a ton of work this weekend so that I don’t have to work late at the office, which means I won’t have to eat there and I can actually have time to cook a healthy meal for myself. I was reading Women’s Health magazine and I’ve found a couple of recipes I’ve posted below that I’m going to try.

Shruti mentioned that she thinks both Tal and I haven’t been getting enough protein and it turns out there’s an article in this month’s edition of WH about getting more protein. Here are the three recipes I intend on trying:

Lamb Burger with Smoked Mozzarella

  • Cut 1/4 pound of smoked mozzarella into four pieces
  • Divide a pound of ground lamb into quarters
  • Form into patties around each piece of cheese
  • Add salt and pepper to taste
  • Grill or broil until the outsides feel very firm, 3-4 min per side
  • Serve on toasted buns

Grilled Chicken with Pesto Sauce

  • In a blender or food processor, puree 2 cups fresh basil, 1 garlic clove, pinch salt, 2 Tbsp pine nuts, 1/2 cup grated Parmesan, 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Season 1 pound of thin chicken cutlets with salt and pepper
  • Grill for about 4 minutes per side
  • Paint with pesto and serve

Broiled Chicken with Cilantro and Lime

  • Combine 3 Tbsp peanut oil, 2 Tbsp chopped cilantro leaves, 1 Tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice, 1 Tbsp chopped shallots, 1/4 tsp cayenne, salt and pepper
  • Spread half in pan and add the chicken
  • Sprinkle meat with more salt and pepper, then top with the remaining mixture
  • Broil until cooked through, about 10 min
  • Garnish with chopped cilantro and lime wedges

I’m also going to go trolling the blogosphere to find out ways to cook seitan. I don’t think I can ever give up meat, but I love the texture and taste of seitan (they serve it at work) and I think I’d like to start incorporating it into my diet more.

In positive news, I plan on getting on the treadmill tonight and doing about 1 1/2 hours of exercise. I’ll let you know if I succeed!

First– bloggers and non-bloggers: Strawberry Shortstuff has a contest going on (ends tomorrow!) to win 40 simply bars– and it’s open to anywhere in the world, which means that foodies like me– in a different country– are eligible 🙂  Check it out.

Also, send me links for your favorite food blogs… I’m looking for a few more.  Thanks!

x Tal