I struggle with doing things in moderation – it’s a character flaw that I’ve always had. I’m either living like a hedonist or punishing myself like a monk. I’m not good at taking the middle road, but that’s really the only way to go. I know that I can’t eat/drink whatever I like and lose weight and feel healthy, but I also can’t expect to give up all of life’s pleasures. I’ll fail – I know I will. People far stronger than me have failed when they try and cut everything out. So from now on, I’m just going to try and take everything in moderation. Moderate eating, moderate drinking, moderate exercising.

Today was good for me – I struggled a little bit (ate a large lunch), but I think ultimately I’m pleased with my choices for today (avoided the Haagan Dazs in my freezer).

Food Diary

Breakfast

  • 1/2 container of Fage yogurt, sweetened with 1 tsp honey (I find I like the honey better than the splenda – richer taste and splenda upsets my stomach)
  • Small serving of jalapeno home fries

Lunch

  • Whole baby carrots with curry
  • Chili w/ cheese & sour cream and cornbread (eek!)

Dinner

  • 3 cheese tortellini with parmesean cheese (no sauce)
  • Small head of broccoli
  • 1 glass red wine

I broke my alcohol rule, but to be honest, I’m not too upset about it since it was just one glass of wine, which is perfectly okay. I would like to stop eating these huge lunches, but my job makes it so difficult. Thankfully, I didn’t eat until I was bursting at all today. I ate enough to be comfortably full and enough where I didn’t feel the desire to snack at all. My plans for tomorrow have been canceled, so I plan on cooking a real dinner for myself – I have a recipe for a wonderful pear and walnut salad that I’ve been dying to make. I’ll throw in some protein and it should be enough for dinner. I desperately need to up my veggie and fruit intake, so I’m going to work on that tomorrow. They serve a lot of raw food at work and maybe I should start exploring those options.

All in all, I’m pleased about today. I can obviously do better, but I certainly could’ve done worse.

