First thing is first– time to celebrate day 2 of no chocolate. Definitely had some cravings, but my coffee withdrawal was worse.

Today’s food:

Breakfast:

  • Bowl of Cheerios with skim milk
  • Fat-free yogurt

Lunch:

  • Small salad, leftover from last night (lettuce, cucumber, strawberries, light vinegarette)
  • Yam, Zucchini, Chickpea salad (followed the recipe exactly, except I didn’t use any salt– I never cook with salt) on 1.5 whole wheat pitas

Dinner:

  • Leftover Yam, Zucchini, Chickpea salad on 1/2 of a whole wheat pita
  • Tiny scoop of rice with leftover garlic soup from yesterday

Adventures in Baking:

  • 1 Lemon Bar (great recipe, really simple)
  • 1 Cookie (see photo and recipe below)
  • Did *not* snack on dough, etc. while baking!
  1. Today was just fine in terms of food. Perhaps I didn’t need a cookie and lemon bar, but I’ll live. As far as baking goes, this is the most successful that I’ve probably ever been in terms of avoiding a food disaster. We baked right after lunch so that we weren’t hungry, and then I drank some decaf coffee while we were baking to keep my mouth busy. I’m bringing the baked goods to a friend and into work tomorrow– people really enjoy baked goods and I really want to be able to bake on a consistent basis without it ruining my healthy endeavors. Today wasn’t bad at all!
  2. I was a little lame today with the leftovers, though I suppose that it wasn’t unhealthy. Just boring…

These cookies are by no means healthy, but they’re only about 100 calories a piece. My advice? Eat 1 and give the rest to special people.

Cherry Shortbread Cookies

fd-016

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/4 cup cherries
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Combine butter, flour, and confectioners’ sugar. Beat butter by itself for about 5 minutes, an then add flour and sugar until light and fluffy. Spoon onto cookie sheets, spacing cookies 2 inches apart. Put a cherry in the middle of each cookie.
  3. Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the bottoms of the cookies are lightly browned.
  4. Remove from oven, and let cool on cookie sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to wire rack to cool.
  5. If desired, sprinkle confectioner’s sugar over the cookies once cool.
