Today’s Eats:

Breakfast:

  • Cornflakes and skim milk
  • Decaf coffee (should probably mention that I’m a coffee addict and giving it up. I haven’t had real coffee in 10 days)

Snack:

  • 220 kcal of dark chocolate (oops. I had intense chocolate cravings and I need to learn to deal with them. I managed not to eat a whole bar….)

Lunch:

  • Whole Wheat crackers with tuna (light mayo) and some nasty light cheese (need to cut down on cheese– can’t resist)

*managed to avoid a snack between lunch and dinner*

Dinner:

  • Rice and vegetables in a light sweet/spicy sauce

Alcohol:

  • Split a bottle and a half of wine with one other person. Shit.

Thoughts:

* I quit drinking coffee because I have a condition that mimics (but isn’t) a cardiovascular issue. As a result, I am highly sensitive to caffeine and my 4-5 cup -a-day habit made my heart race and gave me headaches. My cravings are still really intense, but I find that drinking decaf has been helping a lot. The withdrawal symptoms are quieting and now I really just crave the taste.

* Alcohol: I used to be a pretty heavy drinker and I’ve really cut down over the past year. I don’t even drink on a weekly basis anymore (excluding my cup of wine with dinner, which happens a couple of times a week– but I’m talking about getting drunk here), but it seems that a bottle of wine has become standard when it comes to hanging out with most of my friends. I’m not sure if I should work this into my schedule and ‘live a little’, or if I should work harder to avoid it. I’m really wary of altering my social life because of food– I feel like it’s setting myself up for failure. Thoughts?

* Cooking really helps. Making a meal, knowing exactly what goes into it, and reaping the culinary benefits is really therapeutic for me. It’s also a fun social activity; lately I’ve been inviting friends over for meals rather than meeting them at cafes and restaurants, so we’ve been able to eat a healthier meal and save money.

Going Out To Eat:

I’m going out to eat with a friend on Thursday night. I’m not sure if I should attempt to be healthy, or if I should just go all out being that I don’t go out to eat very often. I have to do more to define my boundaries before I’m in these situations.

