First entry! Yay! Can you sense the sarcasm? I’m Layla and I’m clearly not the most enthusiastic person when it comes to dieting/exercise/weight loss. However, Tal and I have decided to start this blog to share our goals, successes, and struggles around this topic. As a starting point, I’m hoping this venture will give me a healthier lifestyle and a banging body. As much as I’d love to share my height and weight and all of that, I think I would be mortified if those numbers were out there on the interwebs, so I’ll keep that to myself. Basic profile: 23 years old, African-American female, tall (which is awesome, because weight gain shows up a little slower on us tall folk), and in desperate need of losing a few pounds. I’m not an advocate for the scary-skinny, stick-thin look. I have breasts and an ass and I want to keep them. Just hoping to lose the stomach and thighs.

I used to be really physically active as a teen, but once my schoolwork got to be the focus of my life, I quit sports and became a couch potato. Back in the day, I swam, played field hockey, lacrosse, and volleyball, and now it’s a struggle just to go to the gym. My main problem is lack of motivation. Once I get to the gym, I can usually work out for hours if I’m not tired. Getting there, however, is a the hard part. So my first goal is to start hitting the gym at least 5 times a week.

On the food front, I’m absolutely horrible. I love red meat and macaroni and cheese and anything sugary-sweet (well, except chocolate. I hate chocolate, oddly enough.). When I was working out regularly I could eat whatever I wanted and still lose weight. I spent a summer in WA working out two hours a day and I lost about 20 pounds. This happened in spite of a Starbucks coffee addiction, frequent trips to Wendy’s, and a love of pizza. Basically, I was burning so many calories that it didn’t matter. I also kept away from carbs after lunch and didn’t snack at all. Now I work at a company where food is everywhere – I can’t escape it and I snack all the time. I skip meals and I eat whatever I feel like – which usually means protein and carbs. I tend to skip veggies, which is bad and I know it’s bad. I really need to start a healthier pattern of eating because I seriously have issues.

Also – I have one major vice. It’s the great love of my life and I don’t know how I’m going to give it up. Liquor. I love liquor. Alcohol is my drug of choice and living in Manhattan has not made it easy to quit. There’s always a new bar to go to, happy hour with the work girls, dates over dinner and drinks. I love creating new cocktails in my apartment, and I consume more liquor in a week than anybody should. I need to hop on the teetotaler bandwagon and quit because I cannot afford all of these empty calories.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention – I had a blood clot in my lung about a year ago and I’m on blood thinners. Ha! So I’m unhealthy in every sense of the word and all kinds of fucked up. On the plus side, there is nothing like having a near-death experience to make you want to shape up. Of course, it took me a year to have this realization, but better late than never – right?

I’ll be posting my goals in all of these areas in the next couple of days, along with a healthy dose of snark and sarcasm. Wish me luck!

